Retirement Celebration

My mom has been a teacher for over thirty years.  It’s been a long haul and a journey that my sister, father and I have traveled with her.  Between checking papers, calling out scores, entering scores into the grade book, and making the “OMG it’s Mrs. Foy’s daughter!” appearance at her annual good work ticket party, I can only say yes at times it was annoying and boring, but looking back, I wouldn’t change it for the world.  I mean, really, the answers you see students write on some of those tests!  Then there’s the constant questioning when her students see you for the first time, “did you really not get to watch TV on week days?!” “which daughter are you?”, and then many more questions that never cease to entertain.  It’s been a whirlwind and I must say, I greatly appreciate my Mother for telling me “I will not help you with your college education if you intend to be a classroom teacher.” so I responded “how about an art teacher?” and she said “well, okay, that’s not too bad.  No standardized tests, no intense grading papers, okay that’ll be just fine”.  Both my sister and I work with children and greatly enjoy inspiring, and giving youth experiences and power of expression that they may not have had otherwise.  I’d like to think all those years of sitting around my many younger cousins, and watching my Mom in her classroom(where she made us go after middle school every afternoon, ugh, BORING!) that my sister and gained this love and passion for educating and working with kids.

On May 15th, over 75 close friends, family, and staff gathered at a local restaurant to celebrate her retirement.  She knew some people who were attending but many were a surprise including her childhood friend who she grew up with in Hancock, MD.  She had friends from the first years of teaching up through the newest members of her current school.  Below are some pictures of just a few of the many guests, smiles, and laughter that filled the celebration.

MomHeaderMomsIpadSpeakersTriptych1OldestFriendsGiftingTriptychSpeaker1PandoraTriptych4Triptych6NaomiBetsyTriptych5Triptych3Triptych2

Leave a comment